Paradise Donair – New Westminster, BC


Paradise Donair
723 – 12th Street
New Westminster, BC
(604) 522-0789

First entry from this outpost of New Westminster!  This city has its charms, despite its reputation as not being the most safest place to be, especially at night.

I ventured out, in the daytime, as I was in the neighborhood and found this little donair shop on 12th street.  I saw some folks coming out of it with take away bags and some eating at the tables out front.  Must be good or cheap I thought, so parked my car on the street and stepped inside.

Inside, I was greeted by a cheery man, who had the air of a person who had pride in their work and his product.  Love meeting folks like that, in any walk of life.  The space was tiny, basically just a counter from which to order at and at which he put together the food.

The simple choice of a pair of regular donairs and a drink for $6.99 was easy to make.  Deciding to split it up a little, asked for a beef and a chicken.

Alas, the regular size was kind of skimpy when it came to volume.  The beef itself was also under-seasoned and not too tasty. Though it wasn’t super dried out, which is a pet peeve of mine when it comes to this fast food.

The chicken fared only slightly better in terms of flavor.  Volume-wise, it was again lacking.

Sorry Paradise Donair, you’re far from being ideal for me…

Paradise Donair on Urbanspoon

10 thoughts on “Paradise Donair – New Westminster, BC

  1. What! That is all the meat you got in the donair. That seems embarrassing…almost like it was a snack donair. And on top of that, I can’t recall the last time I ate a donair that didn’t cause a mess. I dare say, it looks like you could eat this in a suit.

    • Hi Len. Didn’t really remember the chicken salad on the menu but I was there for the meat. Unfortuntely, I didn’t have a great experience there, but as I wrote, it seemed popular so they aren’t hurting for business which is a good thing.

  2. There are many Donair shops in Vancouver but I always look for service and products. At paradise Donair I have always found both above and beyond expectations. And price? Nobody can beat it.

Leave a comment