Carr’s Oyster Bar – Stanley Bridge, PEI


Carr’s Oyster Bar Restaurant & Lounge
Stanley Bridge Wharf, Route 6
Stanley Bridge, PEI
(902) 886-3355

Traveling without an itinerary is my favorite way to travel; however, there occasionally comes a time when you’re stuck trying to find accommodations in the dead of night, or trying to find something to eat with no idea where to go.

The latter was the case on this particular day, as we were exploring the western coast of PEI.  As it was off-season for tourists – we were having a hard time finding a restaurant which was still open, when we stumbled upon Carr’s.

carrs_signage

Perched next to Stanley Bridge Harbour, the view of the boats and dock are framed beautifully from within the restaurant.  The shucking station is the first thing you see when entering the premises – where staff were busy prying open fresh shellfish.

carrs_stanley_bridge

The “George Carr Special” are Malpeque Oysters on the half-shell, pulled from their oyster beds on the Stanley River.  Expertly shucked and served on a bed of ice, the Large Choice (pictured here) sold for $2.50/ea. while the Small Choice were $1.65/ea.

Amazing, Phenomenal, Glorious – there just isn’t a word to describe these.  They were so good, that we drove back the next day for a second round (just under an hour, one-way from our hotel).

carrs_malpeques

A closeup view – deep cup, no shell residue, and clear liquor.  Length-wise, easily four inches long.

carrs_malpeque

The Coconut Shrimp provided a nice bite, sweet and delicious.  I’m going to go on a tangent here – as there is a question I’d like to ask.  When shrimp are fried – I’m one of those people who will eat the entire thing (head to tail).  Is it wrong that I actually LIKE to eat the tail?

carrs_coconut_shrimp

Speaking of tails, we all know that lobster tails are where the money is made – so there is a lot of appendage meat which has to go somewhere.  However, I just don’t get the lobster roll.  The subtle flavours just seem to get lost in the bread.  Maybe there is a master baker out there who could make this work – but unfortunately this was not it.

I did appreciate how Carr’s serves the lobster undressed, leaving their homemade mayo on the side, but in the end – I found myself picking at the lobster as-is.

carrs_lobster_roll

Also listed under the “George Carr Special” are Quahaugs.  Also known as littleneck clams, the staff were more than happy to bring us over to the shucking station to show them off, explain its habitat and even how to properly shuck them.  I was offered to try one as-is,  and gladly accepted.  Much chewier and saltier than the oyster, but still exceptional.  She recommended to try them lightly baked with their spicy tomato sauce and cheese – which I thoroughly enjoyed!

carrs_quahogs

I’m sorry – but I have no words which can do these any justice.

carrs_quahog

Carr's Oyster Bar Restaurant & Lounge on Urbanspoon

7 thoughts on “Carr’s Oyster Bar – Stanley Bridge, PEI

  1. I’m a shrimp tail eater. Depending on the preparation, I will also eat it skin and all. (I’m a head sucker too).

    I agree with you about lobster rolls. Most of the time all I can taste is the mayo. Seems like a waste of a good lobster.

  2. Another fantastic spot you’ve found here, this seafood tour of eastern Canada you’re taking us on is a great way to “travel” for those of us who can’t hit the road like this right now. 🙂 I’ve always thought that size does not matter when it comes to raw oysters, but these larger Malpeque ones seem to be an exception to the rule.

    On the shrimp issue, I’ve always avoided everything but the tail. Something about the hard flakes in them, that I worry about getting stuck in my throat (a childhood choking experience has traumatized me for life!).

    On lobster rolls, I’ve never been a fan. Its the combination of the meat getting lost in an often terrible bun that kills this for me. And as gastronomydomine notes, the mayo makes it even worse.

  3. Put me down for shrimp tail eater as well (unless it’s raw, i think i’ve cut my mouth a couple times trying THAT endeavor!).

    Ditto what shokutsu said about a seafood tour – those are some mighty good looking oysters 🙂

    As for lobster rolls, i guess i’ll just hang in the minority (funny, since i was having just this conversation yesterday where the person was saying they didnt understand how i could like lobster rolls), and admit that i like them. Done well, I love it when they have a soft sweet roll, filled with tail and both claws, a nice neutral mayo as a binder, cucumber or celery for texture, scallions or chives for bite, and some salt and pepper. The key is in the balance. I like to taste predominantly lobster, sweet sweet lobster, with the other interesting textural and flavour elements as a small counterpoint to the lobster itself. Man, now im hungry!

  4. (drool…)

    I am a shrimp tail eater as well and, just like gastronomydomine, in some instances, shell and all. Ah, sucking the head… (drool…)

    I have no bias against lobster rolls, after all, it is an economical, “cheap” way to stretch a lobster if it will be shared with other people. (OK, you could make a bisque as well but…). The key here is what foodosopher mentioned, i.e., having a good bread to go along, not let other ingredients mask/overload the taste of the lobster, et al. At least, that is better than using krab/artificial crab for crab cakes… (I am looking at you, Pajo’s!)

  5. With all of these tail-eaters, maybe there is a market for the fried shrimp-tail roll 🙂

    G: Yes – preparation does make a difference. I’m a head sucker when steamed/boiled, and head eater when fried. Yum.

    B: A lucky find! We had to come back the second day, just to make sure we weren’t overly loving things just because we were so hungry. Amazing, both days!

    S: I actually asked whether size affected taste. They told me that it did not. I chose the large oysters, as my experiences elsewhere have always seemed to be smaller.

    F: I look forward to that post (hopefully there is one). Your experience sounds much better than the two lobster rolls I tried on this trip (another review on this in queue).

    Glad you all enjoyed the trip notes.

Leave a Reply

