Mac Falafel – Vancouver, BC


[Normally I’d encourage viewers to click on the image to get a closeup of a great creation, but this time, do it for the laughs.  Go on.  I promise I won’t tell.]

Mac Falafel
3685 10th Avenue West
Vancouver, BC

Had to be done.

Introducing, the World’s Most Pathetic Beef Donair.

– processed meat slices out of a warming bin
– dry, stale pita (actually 1.5 pitas, half of another was torn to make this strange contraption)
– limp lettuce
– some dab of a tzatziki sauce in there someplace

This is a “large” with the “works”.  All yours for $4.99 plus tax.

Welcome to Mac Falafel.

Avoid at all costs…

Mac Falafel on Urbanspoon

9 thoughts on “Mac Falafel – Vancouver, BC

  1. That really is the saddest thing i’ve ever seen for a donair. Looks like a bologna and pita sandwich. I can’t believe you actually ate that! 🙂

  2. What a great was to describe it, indeed that’s what it looked like! On a hungry stomach and shelling out five beans, I took a few bites and tossed the rest and got me a slurpee at the next door 7-11. 😦

  3. I wish I read this before I went. Checked rating on my Blackberry (with crappy browser) and said 80+% like it, so I thought it couldn’t be that bad. I got a shawarma plate even after I just had a dine out across the street at Baru lol. What a waste of money.

    • Commendable that you could eat two meals back-to-back like that. But yeah, Mac Falafel was a disappointment. Can you believe I went back two more times just to torture myself further after that initial visit?

  4. This review should be adjusted to say “avoid beef donairs at macfalafel at all costs”.

    Ive been coming here regularly for a couple years and ONLY eat the chicken plate. It is hands down the best roast chicken shwarma in the city.

    Should the salad have some greener lettuce in it? Could the rice use some veggies in it? Yes. But that chicken is so f’ing good I can overlook these weaknesses in the plate.

    Seriously. Try a chicken plate and see what you think. Beef donairs are nasty everywhere regardless. Its basically horsemeat.

Leave a Reply

