Beefy Beef Noodle – Vancouver, BC


Beefy Beef Noodle
4063 Main Street
Vancouver, BC
(604) 568-6821

I think there is a strong love of beef noodles in this city judging by how fast and furious the reviews of Beefy Beef Noodle came about not long after it opened its doors.  The poor availability of parking in this area really turned me off from going, although I’d driven by several times over the past year thinking that I might drop by if an empty spot was seen.  Lucky for me on this day, there was one.  Inside, the place was quite busy at it was approaching the end of a weekday lunch hour.  Strangely though, the crowd was very young.  I felt like there should have been a high school or two right next door. 

I supposed you could call this a Taiwanese cafe, if there even is such a term.  While I was not really interested in wolfing down a big hot bowl of noodles, I decided instead to try out another stereotypical dish in this genre, the crispy salty peppery chicken with rice.  Served with some light pickled cucumber and nut sides, as well as some steamed white rice, it was a good deal at under eight dollars (if memory serves right).  My really casual server was mingling around with her co-workers and appeared distracted for some reason, so getting this out to my table seemed like a chore.  I don’t really expect much from the wait staff in HK cafes either, so I should not have been too disappointed, but for some reason I was by the lack of attention.

That distinct five-spice flavor stood out for me, and the salt level was tempered and there was no distinguishable heat from any black pepper.  The coating was crispy but not overly so, thus suggesting the temperature control of the oil was spot on and to my liking.  Tender meat inside, with the slight floury-ness of the deep fried batter coating retaining just a hint of rawness might have suggested it might have done with thirty seconds or more of cooking time.  Overall though, I liked it and soon the whole plate was devoured in fervor.  I suppose if I make it back again, I’ll give the beef noodles a shot – after all it is its namesake.

Beefy Beef Noodle on Urbanspoon

4 thoughts on “Beefy Beef Noodle – Vancouver, BC

  1. We hit BBN last night ISO thick toast and ended up ordering the chicken too. Sadly, neither were stellar for us. Still looking for exemplary versions of both comfort foods…

  2. The food at Beefy Beef Noodle House is overly oily. Instead of carefully crafting their food, the quality is quite subpar. I would recommend the noodle place at Oak and 67th for the Taiwanese beef noodle.

Leave a Reply

