Burger Burger – New Westminster, BC


Burger Burger
340 – 6th Street
New Westminster, BC
(604) 525-4229

May 2010 re-visit post here

Original post below:

Another sojourn into New West.  I’ve been expanding my food hunting journeys to the “far east”, as frankly for me its a largely unexplored area and the Vancouver coverage of eateries and restaurants is seemingly getting more saturated and repetitive – especially in light of the start of “the event” next week in town.  So I thought, what a better way to really get off the beaten path of reviews on those standard superstar places that are appearing in cyberspace and print media, than a return to a classic mom-and-pop joint.

Interestingly enough, despite its very generic sounding name, Burger Burger gets top billing on the commercial signage that stands at this complex along sixth street.  It totally reminded me of my high school years, where my buddies and I would always congregate at our town’s favourite hole-in-the-wall burger spot – which ironically stood across the street from a McDonald’s.  Even the yellow signage was identical, as well as the open facing flat top cooking area and fantastically priced burger-fries-drink combos.  Over a decade later, I am bewildered to see that a place like Burger Burger has prices that I am most familiar with when I was a cash-starved but always hungry teenager over a decade ago.

For under six dollars, I ordered one of the special deals at the counter and took a seat.  A while later, the pleasant woman who took my order (her husband was probably manning the cooking station) brought it out to the window facing bar top where I was waiting on a stool.  Pictured above, a 4-ounce handmade, beef burger patty, topped with some sauteed mushrooms and slice of melted processed cheese.  Fresh slices of onions, tomatoes and some lettuce rested on the other side of a nice fluffy and soft textured bun.  [On my drive out of New West, I came across this bakery and meat shop next to eat other, that I of course had to check out, and my thinking is that I saw some very similar buns there and believe this might be where they get their supply.]    The patty was notable to me for its loose adhesiveness, that could almost break off into pieces which suggested to me it was a big change from those over processed and tightly formed patties you get in too many hamburgers.

This often happens to me but I got the end batch of the french fries I believe.  Too dark in colour, and too many bits that were shorter than the rest, and really crispy.  Not a total loss however as with my can of pop to wash it down, I rather enjoyed myself in the eating area, as people watching some solo diners, families and older seniors all made the environment an interesting one.  Not sure if I have figured out the general New West demographic, but they sure do get a wide range of folks coming in for their great value burger meals.  I’ll definitely be back.  Probably with my east-side guide T.  🙂

Burger Burger on Urbanspoon

12 thoughts on “Burger Burger – New Westminster, BC

  1. I love the non-conformity of the burger. You can just tell it’s not from a fast food joint. I’m a sucker for those crispy fries though, with extra salt.

  2. My friends and I went to Cariboo Hill Secondary in Burnaby and used to skip math and french so we could hit Burger Burger and have an extended (and YUMMY!) lunch. That was 10 years ago. I haven’t been back since graduation, I had forgotten about it, but I will head back now that you’ve jogged my memory! Thanks!

    • Glad to have been able to bring back some good ole memories of BB for you. 🙂 I too wish I could go back to my high school burger haunt, unfortunately I heard it was no longer in business. Nothing wrong with nostalgia! 🙂

Leave a Reply

