Mon Mom’s Cafe – New Westminster, BC


Mon Mom’s Cafe
821 12th St
New Westminster, BC
(604) 524-2088

On the quick and easy breakfast trail in New Westminster, I chanced upon Mon Mom’s Cafe located along 12st Street. Situated in a wooden building reminiscent of structures popular from an earlier era, it certainly has its charms and nostalgic sidewalk appeal. The slow pace of things on the road outside took a turn as I stepped inside the place which was full of chatter and customers. The sounds and smells of a breakfast diner never fail to disappoint me.

With breakfast plate offerings (eggs, toast, ham/sausage, French toast/pancakes) in the $4 to $4.75 range, and omelets in the $5 to $6 range, great value can be had. Preferring French toast over pancakes, I ordered one of the choices from the top half of the menu and sat back to take in the scene. Families, groups of working class men, single diners taking up the smaller tables near the front window, it was all a regular mix of common folk out for a relaxing morning meal.

The lone server, a middle-aged Chinese woman was pleasant and chatting up the customers as they poured in or asked for refills of their coffee. I could see a man in the kitchen taking the orders, presumably her husband(?), and a much older man and woman just sitting around behind the counter, who I assumed were her parents/parents-in-law. A welcoming family owned and operated establishment, just the kind I like to support.

Minutes later, my food arrived. Nicely crisped discs of potatoes, two regular strips of run-of-the-mill processed bacon, and soft textured scrambled eggs. I think they were deliberately lightly seasoned, allowing for one to add more salt/pepper and ketchup as need be. Pretty good as far as I could judge.

The French toast came out just as I like it, with a slight crisp to the edges, while delicately fluffy inside, and the bread being used of a good thickness (nothing worse than limp, skinny slices when making French toast), all with a dusting of icing sugar. The table top condiments set had maple syrup on hand already. As someone who for some reason struggles to make a really good French toast at home, I was really pleasantly surprised.

I’ll surely be back if I am ever in the neighborhood and seeking a laid back, old school diner for a value priced breakfast…

Mon Mom's Cafe on Urbanspoon

6 thoughts on “Mon Mom’s Cafe – New Westminster, BC

  1. With places like this and Amelia, should I start to relate New West with “cheap breakfast” in an old school environment? 🙂

    I guess I should give these places a try. Thanks for the post!

  2. interesting choice for breakfast in NW. We moved into the area 2 years ago and was skeptical at first. we now love living here and the choices for dining is definitely not bad either. will give it a try this weekend.

Leave a Reply

