Wild Tangerine – Edmonton, AB


Wild Tangerine
10388 – 112 Street
Edmonton, AB
(780) 429-3131

wildtangerine_frontage

If I was to open a restaurant of my own, I would experiment with some of my favorite flavours from around the world, and source out the best ingredients I could get my hands on.  Had this dream ever become reality – it probably would have looked something like this.

Wild Tangerine, centrally located on 104th Street is home to an unpretentious, fun and casual restaurant.  Described by others as  ‘east meets west’ or ‘Asian-Italian fusion’ – the menu is predominantly Asian flavours over local proteins, served with pastas, rice or vegetables.  A conscious effort has been made to use seasonal vegetables, and local meat which is antibiotic and growth-stimulant free.

wildtangerine_shrimplolipop

Anyone who has been here before, has probably had the shrimp lollipops.  A single large shrimp, skewered and wrapped in kataifi (shredded phyllo) – then fried to golden deliciousness.  Served with a side of wasabi yogurt, this never fails as a great starter.

Moving to the entrees – my wife chose the Thai Green Curry with Prawns & Tortiglioni.  Traditional gaeng kiow wahn (Thai green curry) is traditionally much soupier from the addition of water or coconut milk; however as photographed, expect more of a green curry paste stir-fry over pasta.  This dish provided a nice level of heat without burning-out any tastebuds.

wildtangerine_greencurry

So many cultures have devised a method of preparing pork.  Obvious favorites are bacon or pancetta, but for me – I whole-heartedly applaud the Chinese for inventing Cha-Siu.  Literal translation is ‘fork roasted’ but is commonly identified as the dark red BBQ pork found in Chinese markets.

So my choice this evening was the Cha-Siu Organic Pembina Pork Tenderloin with Spicy Tangerine Glaze.  The beautifully tender pork loin was served over a bed of gai lan (Chinese broccoli), and garnished with what I can only describe as carrot tagliatelle.  The tangerine glaze has a fantastic blend of sweet, sour, with a touch of spice.  Portion sizes were plentiful, but when something is this good – there is never enough…

wildtangerine_porktenderloin

Reviewing the dessert menu, we decided to share the the ‘Warm Gingered Bread Pudding, with banana ice cream’.  Presented with a carmelized sugar cap, the ginger provided a nice spice within the warm bread pudding (albeit more of a sponge cake).

wildtangerine_gingerpudding

As we were finishing up, we took a look through the ‘mobile cuisine’ options available in quick take-out containers.  An interesting selection of soups, sauces and stocks, ranging from $4 to $10.

Hmmm,  I think I just uncovered a secret from a recent dinner party…

Wild Tangerine on Urbanspoon

4 thoughts on “Wild Tangerine – Edmonton, AB

  1. The Wu’s have always been great chefs (they owned Polo’s behind the University Hospital back in the day), but sometimes i found value to be a bit lacking. How did you feel about the price to quantity+quality ratio?

    • Portions were quite big (wife couldn’t finish her green curry), but for $20, it might be a tad high – seeing that it was mostly veg. That said – quality was there in preparation and ingredients.

      The pork however, I thought was very fair at $23. There was a good amount of food – and by far the best dish I’ve had there yet. I did have a craving for some kind of starch at one point – which I believe was available – but offered as a side dish.

      I may not be the best person to ask about gauging value for dollars when it comes to food. Shokutsu will probably attest, as the last two times we met up – I’ve shelled out $60 on a last minute sashimi platter in Calgary, and then another $60 for four slices of o-toro in Vancouver.

      Re: Wu’s
      I never had a chance to go to Polo’s – and honestly had never heard of it until after WT opened. We did see Wilson that evening in the front of house (with a set of wicked tangerine orange eye-glasses), and had a quick chat. Not sure if his sister was cranking out the food in the back, but I did see a posting showcasing Judy winning the ’07 Gold Medal Plates award.

      Congratulations to her – by the way.

  2. I was wondering about the portion sizes too. In the past, I’ve had meals where people order totally different entrees – one person had almost too much food, and another person (who doesn’t eat much) left the restaurant hungry. I don’t suppose you noticed if any of the other patrons had similar sized portions?

    • I was seated with my back to most of the restaurant, so I unfortunately don’t recall much of what was happening around me. The only table I do recall – was the one directly next to us, but they both were having the green curry (which smelled so good it swayed our choice).

      U-spoon has some of their other menu items posted. Looking at these – I’m starting to wonder if this quantity issue could be attributed to a distinct lack of grains included in most of their entrees?

      This could be corrected by ordering one of their $5 sides, but I could see this pushing the price-to-quantity ratio. I’m still going to give credit to quality of ingredients though.

Leave a Reply

