York Fresh Pizza – Vancouver, BC


York Fresh Pizza
3630 West 16th Avenue
Vancouver, BC
(604) 731 1112

York Fresh Pizza on Urbanspoon

Pizza… I think we can all agree is a clear cut winner when it comes to good and generally cheap eats.  Its been profiled already a few times here on Foodosophy, and I am sure it will again in the future.  From the classic bubbly-crusted thin style Neapolitan to the thick crust/deep dish-style that Chicagoans prefer, through to the floppy variant favored on the east coast, and all of the other types that lie somewhere on that matrix that is the world of pizza, it is a true gastronomical delight.

Depending on my mood, and more so the strength of the pangs of hunger that hit me, my preference can range from thin crust with very basic toppings all the way (and back again) to the thicker crusted and heavily topped selections out there.  On days, when until the even hours my entire day’s diet has consisted only of a cup of coffee, the latter more heavily mounted style clearly takes precedence and due to shear luck, I found my way to discovering York Fresh Pizza.

Entrenched inside the first floor of an older structure along W.16th Avenue, just before the turn onto Dunbar Street, this pizzeria could easily be missed when driving down this road, especially when one is more concerned about navigating the curve on to the more populated Dunbar.  With limited seating inside the waiting area in front of the counter, it truly is a more take away/delivery type of pizza joint, although the available by-the-slice options seem to be popular with the youth market (while I was getting my order, the place was packed with a bunch of rambunctious local teenagers).

The House Specials caught my attention as I tried to make my choice, and being it was my very first visit, I thought I would choose from there.  In the end, I decided on the York’s Special, complete with a primarily meat-heavy lineup that included the following: salami, sausage, pepperoni, bacon, green peppers, onions and mushrooms.  Talk about hearty!

You can also be creative and “make your own pizza” by choosing anywhere from 1 to 4 toppings (made up of 5 difference cheeses, 2 types of seafood, 9 types of meat, and 16 types of vegetable) in a small (10 inch) to large (14 inch) size, with prices ranging from $10.48 all the way up to $23.81; with discounts on the price per pizza if you buy 2 or more.  The House Specials, of which there were six, ranged in price for a small ($14.29) to large ($25.71).  Of course, you could also ask for more extra toppings ($0.95 for a small; $1.90 on a large).

I was generally quite satisfied with the overall package, as the large amount of toppings was generally spread over the entire face of the pie, and made each slice a meal in itself.  That didn’t stop me from having my fair share (the image is of a large size), with plenty left over for the next morning.  The crust was just right, with a good crispiness to it but not overly so that it was brittle and crumbly.  The base crust was also spot on, not too soft so that it wouldn’t be able to handle the weighty toppings, and not overcooked so that it became a hard sheet of cardboard.  If I had to raise a negative point, I’d say that perhaps the tomato sauce was a touch on the blander side.  But with all the flavors on top, I hardly noticed.

Judging from the busyness of the dine-in area, the trio of drivers who were being shuttled in and out the kitchen space by the two busy managers who also seemed to be manning the phones, it would seem that York Fresh Pizza has its loyal followers, and I think that in my part of town, it will be on my top three list for delivery in the coming year.

York Fresh Pizza on Urbanspoon

6 thoughts on “York Fresh Pizza – Vancouver, BC

  1. Looks good, and I must say the crust has a super even height in that last photo – almost like they get out and measure the dough thickness 🙂

    Cold, day after breakfast pizza is so so good. So it’s always nice to have left overs.

  2. shokutsu, this pizza looks quite good! Good distribution of toppings and it does not seem to be either too thick or too thin. Too bad is on the West Side…

  3. >raidar
    I’m not sure if that “evenness” being spotted is due to the actual pizza or the angle I took the photograph. 🙂 Regardless, you are indeed correct, as I look at it another time.

    >KimHo
    It was quite good. If you happen to be over on this side of town, go try it out. Not sure if by-the-slice will get you the best sampling (as they tend to dry out sitting under hot lights), but if you have the time to order a fresh pie, I’d recommend you do so.

  4. I think the best pizza in town is at Goldies Rustic pizza, on Pender and Seymore. I gave it 4-1/2 star on my blog:0) I would have given 5 if they didn’t raise the price up a bit.

    • Can’t say I’m really familiar with by-the-slice type of joints downtown as its not my usual hangout, but will keep my eyes open for this one next time I am down there.

Leave a Reply

