Terra Breads (Kitsilano) Bakery & Café – Vancouver, BC


Terra Breads (Kitsilano) Bakery & Café
2380 West 4th Avenue
Vancouver, BC
(604) 736 1838

Terra Breads Cafe on Urbanspoon

Aside from the occasional pickup of some French baguettes and loaves, and multigrain breads, my forays into the original location of Terra Breads in Kitsilano and their bakery in the Public Market on Granville Island have been limited.  So on this day I thought I would expand upon the range of my usual purchases and check out some of their pastries and sandwiches.  Actually I was torn between trying out their daily changing savoury focaccias (on this day it was a simple tomato & pesto variety) but decided on a sandwich, in order to see if any of their other artisan breads suited my tastes.

The collection of pastries pictured above are the Apple Focaccia with caramel, sesame and thyme, a Blueberry White Chocolate Bread, Macaroons, and a Blueberry Scone.  It wasn’t a deliberate decision, but I found as I was eating my way through them with some friends that there was an interesting mix of textures and flavors among just this simple set.  The sweet focaccia with its great crispy portions and a softer chewy texture on the inside was probably my favorite of the bunch – I would get this again for sure.  The Blueberry bread was a bit more crumbly but not as much as my beloved scones.  I think you can clearly get a sense that blueberries are among my most favorite fruits.  The Macaroons were an attempt to battle my lifelong dislike for coconuts (I can handle them when they are made of sliced almonds) in foods.  Funny how I don’t mind the inclusion of coconut cream in Piña Coladas though…

A pair of sandwiches were chosen.  The first of which was the Roast Chicken + Bacon on Pain de Campagne.  Described as a roasted, free-range chicken, double smoked bacon,  roma tomatoes, organic mixed baby greens, and tarragon mayonnaise, I was quite satisfied.  The smoky properties of the chicken and bacon were a perfect match, and the veggies adds a cruncy textural element that completed the composition.  The bread was a neutral variety that wasn’t overly bold thus not overwhelming the ingredients sandwiched between.

The second meat and bread combination was the Roast Turkey + Chutney on a Pumpkin Seed Bread and contained slices of roasted turkey breast, cucumber, cranberry walnut chutney, organic greens, and mayonnaise.  I personally didn’t enjoy this as much as the earlier one, mainly for the fact of that sweet chutney.  I think eating this while taking bites of the pastries might have influenced my thinking here, but I didn’t really want any sweet elements in the sandwich.  The bread used was interesting, I think I will pick up some next time and try out with other fillings and condiments.

At this location, you can elect to eat your meal at the communal table that is plopped right in the middle of the café, or along one of the bar counters facing the street.  It seems to always be packed however, and I’ve never seen an open seat, though imagine there is some pretty fast turnover, just not when I am there.  As we left with our purchases we walked a bit further along 4th Ave, and popped into the Take 5 Café for some coffee.  Again, a similar scene as all of the seats were occupied.  They had similar looking sandwiches there available to order (as well as some soups), which made me wonder if they bought from Terra Breads.  Anybody know?

Terra Breads Cafe on Urbanspoon

10 thoughts on “Terra Breads (Kitsilano) Bakery & Café – Vancouver, BC

  1. I love Terra Bread’s fig and anise artisan bread and always buy myself a loaf as a treat whenever I’m in the area. I have tried some of their other offerings but have never felt they measure up to the prices they’re asking.

    Another bakery I’ve recently discovered is the Swiss bakery over by 2nd and Main. They have a great walnut and fruit loaf, not to mention an interesting selection of delicious pretzels.

    I also want to try their swiss pastries next time I drop by.

  2. Was the meat lunch meat style, or properly sliced off the bird. I feel like I’m not alone in the love for real oven roasted turkey/chicken breast. Really, should deli’s even serve lunch meat version?

  3. >raidar
    You know what, it was really thinly sliced and not that preferred rustic cut that you describe as being the better variety and I agree with your opinion on that. It tasted okay but the smoked bacon was the highlight in the first sandwich profiled above.

  4. Smoked bacon is so good. I was recently looking for a recipe and decided to see if I could find something in my Cook’s Illustrated Best Of. Their #1 version of the dish I was looking to make, was taken over the top, in the opinion of the test eaters, by adding smoked bacon..hmmmm!! Thanks for the update.

  5. Those pictures really look delicious and made me hungry already and the lunch time is too far away for me. Must be a must place to everybody that lives or works in the neighborhood.

    lehtitarjoukset

  6. Pingback: Tracking Terra Breads « Food for Thought

Leave a Reply

