Flying Wedge Pizza Co. – Vancouver, BC


[As with all of our posts, please click on any image for an enlarged view]

Flying Wedge Pizza Co.
1935 Cornwall Avenue
Vancouver, BC
Tel: 604-732-8840
Hours: Everyday, 11am-10:30pm (delivery 4:30pm-10pm)

Now with eight locations in Vancouver proper, and seven more in surrounding communities, the Flying Wedge Pizza Co. has probably become very much the “corporate” entity that the founders (three University of British Columbia art students) set out to battle when they opened their first location almost twenty years ago.  Now with multiple locations, a franchising business model, and boasting about all the “awards” they’ve won from mainly local media and publications, it seems to me they have lost touch with their claimed spirit of “celebrating the exceptional, and valuing creative and unconventional experiences”.

Even the big plastic sign that greeted me as I stepped inside the Kerrisdale outlet shouted out “Pizza Hut” to me:  offering up an easy choice of a classic pepperoni or “tropical pig” (call it ham and pinapple will ya!) for $15 for a 12 inch medium size.  Nothing too creative or unconventional there I thought.  Looking further in the glass case selling pizza by the slice, I did spot a few strange sounding names like “Tuscan Garden” and “Rosso Bossa Nova” on plates beside the same two boring staples from the a fore mentioned sign.  As I was standing there checking out the menu, two others came in to pick up their already called-in order.

Really hungry and not inclinded to try and decifer each and every strangely labeled option, I eventually settled on the “Wedge Deluxe” (Flying Wedge sweet sauce, mushrooms, green peppers, Italian sausage, onions, dry cured pepperoni, topped with mozarella and cheddar cheese, all on a herb infused dough), which was on their “Extreme Pizzas” sub-menu.  I don’t know about that, nothing too wild as far as the ingredients went I thought but trying to get a balance between meat and veg, this was my best bet.  Twenty of so minutes later, it was ready to go and off I was (there was a bar seating area with four stools, for those waiting or eating by the slice, but this location is not made to consume a whole pie in a relaxed setting, not sure about the other locations).

Opening up the box (incidentally, a predominantly black one, maybe trying to play up their “rebellious” mission) at home, I had mixed initial impressions.  Good coverage throughout of toppings and cheese, and a nice thin crust (that I was looking for one this day), but the aroma was not as powerful as I’d hoped.  Perhaps it was the herb-infused base, but that seemed to take the lead in terms of scent.  The edge crust as well, wasn’t as folded over as thick as I’d hoped, thought thankfully wasn’t burnt.

First bite… the visual of well rounded coverage of toppings was confirmed, as I could get a taste of each ingredient immediately.  Good crispness of the green pepper, the earthy tones of the mushrooms, the bitterness of the onion, the saltiness of the pepperoni and Italian sausage.  The cheese wasn’t thickly layered and gooey, and thus no extended strings came off the pizza as a piece was separated.  I know that means very little except for perhaps the visual, but somehow, I look for that in pizza.

Overall, I’d say it was quite average.  Nothing mindblowing, spectacular by any means here.  One piece and I could have called it a day, but I was hungry so ended up eating three.  It lacked that drawing power to want more and more and more.  Perhaps it was the toppings?  The herb-infused crust that I was having for the first time?  Maybe a thicker base was needed on this day for me (I am a big fan of both thick and thin crust pizza).  Or maybe it was the in-store feeling I got of this place trying to be cool, but falling rather flat.  Perhaps it deserves another chance, with another variation off their menu.  Don’t hold your breathe though, as I am sure there are other better pizza joints in town that I have yet to come across.  As the Foodosopher said in our very first post, “Cheese, meat, dough.  How can you go wrong?”, so you can bet I will be reporting on another pizza offering in the near future.

Finally, I’d love to hear back from readers on what their definition of a really great pizza is…

Flying Wedge Pizza Co. on Urbanspoon

6 thoughts on “Flying Wedge Pizza Co. – Vancouver, BC

  1. I liked these more than the even more corporate brands (pizza hut, panago). My favorite was their pesto chicken (they might have called it something fancier).

    Another pizza joint that I think is fantastic is Megabite pizza on Granville and Nelson (also at the Commercial skytrain station). Its much simpler toppings, but better value imo.

  2. Hi dan,

    Its been so long since I’ve had one of “those” pizzas, its hard for me to remember what they taste like, but will take your word for it. Pesto on pizza, sounds interesting, just hope its not coming from a can.

    Thanks for your thoughts on what works for you with regards to pizza. Simple toppings are indeed good, as too many ingredients makes the overall taste too complicated and messy sometimes.

  3. I MUST SAY THAT FLING WEDGE PIZZA COMPANY HAS THE FRESHEST MOST EXCITING PIZZA I HAVE EVER HAD. I HAVE MANAGED FOR 3 COMPETITORS AND NONE HAVE COME EVEN CLOSE TO THE FLAVOURS AT FWP. I AM NOW A PROUD MANAGER OF THE KITSILANO LOCATION. AND COMMUTE FROM SURREY EVERYDAY BECAUSE I BELIEVE IN THIS PRODUCT SO MUCH. JUST A QUICK BIT FOR YA, THE SPINACH PESTO IS MADE FRESH FROM SCRATCH IN STORE. FRESH SPINACH, GARLIC BASIL AND THE REST ALL PROCESSED FOR A REAL TASTY PESTO. COME IN AND TRY THE PESTO CHICKEN. ITS ON A FLAX THIN CRUST WITH OUR HOUSE MARINATED OLIVE OILED ARTICHOKES.

  4. I have to say I like Megabite for cheap delivery pizza…I always order it “thin crust” and with “less cheese”. My daughters love their spinach rolls too.

    One thing to watch out for with Megabite – they are all connected to some sort of pizza dispatch network. I have phoned Megabite on Commercial Dr and I received ( a lesser) pizza from Pizza Garden (also on Commercial Dr) on occasion.

Leave a Reply

