Wang’s Beef Noodle House – Vancouver, BC


[As with all of our posts, please click on any image for an enlarged view]

Wang’s Beef Noodle House
8390 Granville Street
Vancouver, BC

I’m not sure when the name changed happened on the external English signage, as I swear not long ago this place was just called ‘Taiwan Beef Noodle House’.  I understand that in the Chinese characters though, it does say Wang, so figure the owner just wanted to put his name up-front-and-center on the place now.  I don’t spend a lot of time in south Granville so perhaps a reader might have some insights on when this change occurred…

Looking for a quick meal before an appointment, I decided to stop by after seeing a few empty parking spots in front – an apparent challenge given the limited parking space of their lot.  The only other time I had eaten there, introduced by a friend who recommended it and joined me, I had a good meal so walked in confident but without a great deal of anticipation.  With only thirty minutes to eat and looking for a value proposition, it fit the bill for my needs on this occasion.

It seemed the menu had grown; two separate double-sided laminated sheets were handed to me, with one dedicated to a lot of fruit-based drinks.  Not sure if they are trying to become more of a dining cafe of sorts, but was glad to see their base food section with noodles was intact.  Sticking to the tried and true, I chose the Beef Noodles in Soup listed at the top of this section of the menu, and went with thick noodles – you have the choice from several, including thin, rice, vermicelli, etc.  Listed right below is a spicy version of this, and I know it’s a popular choice as well.  Last time, I had mistakenly ordered the large size, which was quite filling, so opted for the small size ($6.25) as I wanted to also grab a plate of the Sliced Beef Roll Pancake creation ($5.25) that blew me away on my first visit.

First out of the back kitchen came my beef roll.  A simple concoction but oh so tasty – with a nice crispy green onion cake-like exterior filled with green onions and slices of beef dressed in some sweet hoisin sauce, all rolled like a carpet creating a few layers of goodness.  It was cut into sections and each one was pierced with toothpick for easier handling, but I was amused that as on my first visit, they still had not cut through all the way to the bottom, making the task of eating a section at a time not as smooth as it could be.  Why cut it if you aren’t going all the way through!

The bowl of noodles came out soon enough and as I scooped out the bottom with the spoon, I easily counted six good sized chunks of tender beef brisket much to my delight.  The soup was a deep rich color, flavorful, with obvious tints of cilantro and what seemed to be a picked cabbage of some sort, finely chopped.  I was surprised to find the flat wheat noodles in the bowl were able to pick up some of the smaller pieces as I looped them up into my mouth, as I usually associate that kind of attribute with more crinkly, curvy noodles.

All of this coming with GST at just over $12, I am counting this as one of the cheapest value meals I’ve had in Vancouver.  One day, I have to make a trip to Taiwan, to eat this on the streets of Taipei to know how authentic it is at Wang’s.

Taiwan Beef Noodle House on Urbanspoon

4 thoughts on “Wang’s Beef Noodle House – Vancouver, BC

  1. My take on Wang’s (this used to be Taiwanese Beef Noodle House, now Wang’s Beef Noodle House)- that crispy beef pancake roll (nu-jio sao bing) is one of the best i’ve had. Anywhere. Including Taipei. It’s well worth the $$$.

    The fresh noodle i found to be too thick, and too rubbery. The spicy soup was good, but a bit too oily. And not beef fat oily, but more like “sauteed” canola oily.

    As for authentic, that’s really the eye of the beholder. The street markets serve up such diverse tastes and flavours, there isn’t one accepted standard for Beef Noodle Soup. Just enjoy.

  2. foodosopher: i can see your point about the thickness of the noodles. i wasn’t sure if that’s the way they were supposed to be or not. makes it more filling nevertheless. i have never tried the spicy soup, sounds like its best to avoid.

  3. Hi there!

    Just started reading your blog. I currently live in Calgary so it’s nice to see that you have some (most) restaurants that I go to often. But I also wanted to let you know that there is a restaurant here in Calgary ( a whole in the wall) that serves Taiwanese/Szechuan cuisine. It’s small, but it is good. It’s in the same strip mall as Delicious Country and Thai Tai. I believe it’s call “Han’s..” something. But it’s right beside the Cantonese cafe and across from the back door of Thai Tai in the mall. They serve a pretty good Taiwanese Beef Noodle soup with the preserve veggies and all. 🙂

  4. Hi Anna,

    Welcome! And thanks for the reminder about Han’s – you’re bang on – it is small, and it is good. Han’s is run by a Taiwanese couple by way of Malaysia. Their Beef Noodles are pretty good, though the recent price increases are pretty discouraging. $9 is getting to be a bit much for a bowl of beef noodles!

Leave a Reply

