Tealips Bubble Tea & Coffee – Burnaby, BC


Tealips Bubble Tea & Coffee
7139 Arcola Way
Burnaby, BC
(778) 397-3972

Offering a wide ranging menu of bubble teas, coffee, loose leaf tea, smoothies, shaved ice, waffles, and sandwiches, this hidden, out-of-the-way cafe in the Middlegate neighborhood of Burnaby has steadily built a strong following.  Or so it seems on my visits there as its always got a steady number of customers inside.  I suppose it benefits greatly from the steady stream of traffic to the nearby businesses, as well as the multiple condo towers that look down upon the building in which it is housed…

Tealips does have a slightly different premise compared to other bubble tea houses around town.  For instance, the thing that struck me upon entering the doors was the more relaxed vibe and seating arrangement that sprawled out before my eyes.  A lot more inviting as a result and the kind of place that makes you want to stick around.  The crowd seemed to be dominated by younger couples or soloists who were clearly students cramming behind a heavy textbook or busy scanning the screen of their personal computer.

In addition, the loose leaf tea selection and display area was something I’d not seen before in such a business before.  On a recent visit, I did indulge in a double whammy of sugary madness, in a fully decked out Liege waffle with added toppings like a scoop of matcha ice cream, frozen (unfortunately) fruit with sliced almonds and whipped cream!  I wasn’t overly thrilled with the texture of the waffle but softened down by the melting ice cream and mixed together with the other toppings, I was able to wolf it all down.  This was in addition to the bubble tea with pearls – which was rich and creamy and the tapioca cooked just right.

By the end of my stay, I was clearly feeling the effects of the overdose of sugar.  Thankfully my laptop and the wifi connection enabled me to kill some time and I was able to tame down my buzz a bit before driving off into the dark night…

Tealips Bubble Tea & Coffee on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

