Qoola – Richmond, BC


Qoola Frozen Yogurt & Fruit
Aberdeen Centre
4151 Hazelbridge Way Map
Richmond, BC
(778) 297-5488

Qoola’s profile first came to my attention last year when there seemed to be a lot of buzz around their opening in the Metropolis at Metrotown shopping mall.  With their emphasis on fat/gluten free frozen yogurt, fresh cut fruit, organic grain waffles/crepes, the whole concept reads like a feel good, very West Coast-inspired offering.  Throw in their initiative in using bio-degradable and recyclable products, the whole operation  has “BC tree huger” written all over it.  Now with shops in this popular Richmond mall, as well as in Victoria, BC, the Qoola wave is slowing spreading across the province.

The signature menu item is the fresh frozen yogurt which is available in three flavors (original, chocolate and green tea) and supplanted by other monthly flavors.  For edible snacks, there is also something called the Q-Waffle, which is a whole grain waffle topped with various toppings and a mound of the frozen yogurt.  I watched as a few other customers ordered this and was amused at the confusion the self serve yogurt stations caused, especially with the older clientele that I witnessed.

With a desire to have something easily transportable as I was not going to take a seat in the food court, I opted for a smoothie.  Made with the same frozen yogurt but the texture was lost unfortunately with the addition of what I can only assume was some non-whole milk(?).  Removing the plastic cup cover, I got a glimpse at why I was tasting more ice chips and ice flakes than anything else.  It has been mixed up with some actual chunks of ice in the blender but they were not fully broken down into the mixture with the frozen yogurt.

It felt like the limited amount of actual frozen yogurt that was making it through the straw and into my mouth was totally lost in all the ice.  I must have gotten half way down and began to think how much this reminded me of those big cups of pop you get at McDonald’s all watery and filled with ice.  Pretty disappointing when I was hoping for a much more smoother tasting (and thicker) drink.  Throw in the fact that I wasn’t really getting much green tea flavor either, and this was a complete fail in my books.

Qoola Frozen Yogurt + Fruit (Aberdeen Centre) on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

