Toulouse Petit – Seattle, WA


Toulouse Petit Kitchen & Lounge
601 Queen Anne Ave. N.
Seattle, WA
(206) 432-9069

Booze with breakfast. Sad but true, that was the criteria upon which some research was done as I had a thirsty companion who was riding shotgun on this trip. Trying to get our drink on well before the night game at Safeco Field, this place popped up as the sole option. Surprisingly, it also turned out its a pretty well known joint. Dodging the lineup and delaying our entry into the place with a coffee from down the street, we were able to get a pair of stools at one of the rectangular communal tables – fittingly right in front of the beautifully stocked bar.  As it said on the menu, “daytime drinking has never been so dignified, fun and guilt free…”.

There was a special pricing event going on during the hours we were here, so it did knock a few green bills off the total tally.  With a section devoted to some more uncommon creations, my dining partner and I chose from that area, skipping past the usual eggs/toast combos, that we might have otherwise chosen.  Our picks: the cured pork cheeks confit hash and the smoked salmon and asparagus hash.

Both plates had a more refined look to them once they were brought to our table than say more common breakfast fare.  I’d say it fit the brunch side of things spot on, especially in terms of the ingredients.  In hindsight, I think we should have pushed the eggs to the side so we could see what was hidden underneath, my apologies.  That said, I was quite pleased with the combination of the smoky flavor of the chunks of salmon, melding with the more bitter tones of the swiss chard which were then tempered by the sweetness from the roasted pearl onions and the fingerling potatoes.  For a more hungry fellow I’d say the portion size might be lacking if you really want to get full of just the food.

I did have a quick bite of some of the pork cheeks.  Such a wonderful part of the hog wouldn’t you say.  I love it.  I’d like to give this dish my full attention with an order just to myself, but the tiny morsel that I was able to snag seemed just fine.  Looking around the room, folks near us were ordering more omelets and Benedicts it seemed than anything else.  I was hoping to spot something more exotic Creole dishes I saw listed but was hesitant to pull the trigger on.  If I can put up with the lines, I might give them a try next time though.

Oh and of course the Mariners lost that night.  Horrible club this season (again)…

Toulouse Petit on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

