Smoking Water Coffee Co. – Fairmont Hot Springs, BC


Smoking Water Coffee Co.
4985 Hot Springs Road
Fairmont Hot Springs, BC
(250) 345-4008‎

Years ago my gullible self was suckered into purchasing a timeshare, and every year I find myself receiving a letter informing me that my unused points will expire in a couple months.  This subsequently prompts me to search online for some last minute resorts close to home so I don’t let too many points go to waste.

Fairmont Hot Springs, located in BC’s Columbia Valley, has the largest network of timeshare resorts in Canada – which made it easy to get a spot on this particular week.  As we enjoyed an unusually warm winter this year, this trip turned out to be quite nice.

Arriving just after lunch – we stopped into this cozy cafe for a quick bite and a coffee.

I will admit, that I am not the biggest coffee connoisseur, but there was something about this latte that I thoroughly enjoyed.  The extra wide cup always seemed odd to me (from a thermodynamics point of view), but I’m sure someone has a theory that it affects the flavour.  Regardless, after our six hour road trip, this hit the spot perfectly.

The menu is fairly straight-forward.  Simple homemade sandwiches, soups, and an assortment of treats.  I ordered a cup of the beef & veg soup, and the pizza pannini.

The soup was hearty, seasoned well and was delicious.  The panini scored well, with a fair amount of quality fillings, and a flavourful sauce.  The cheese could have used an upgrade, but didn’t take too much away from the experience.

The special of the day: ham & cheese sandwich, also scored well.  A quality multigrain bread, ample filling of quality ham, and real cheddar.  Unfortunately the tomato soup tasted a bit too much like the red-stuff in the bottle.

With a limited number of places to eat in this resort town, we frequented this location a few times over the week.  Friendly staff, warm earthy atmosphere, and internet $tations tucked in the back corner.  I’m sure my timeshare points will bring me back – both to this lovely town and to this cafe.

Smoking Water Coffee on Urbanspoon

7 thoughts on “Smoking Water Coffee Co. – Fairmont Hot Springs, BC

  1. Sounds like the right kind of relaxed and home cooking kind of place that I also enjoy when on a break in the mountains, where the pace of things just slow down to that crawl that we all need sometimes. I’m a big fan of wide rimmed cups for drinking hot liquids. Not sure if its similar to say wine glasses where you want to get more aroma in each sip, but it sure has its appeal. :)

  2. I feel your pain, I’m in the same boat with a timeshare. Interstingly I too ended up in Fairmont this past December to use one of my weeks. Our experience at the Smoking Water Coffee Co. was equally good. Nothing like vast quantities of caffine after a short 3hr dip in the springs.

  3. Hello,
    My husband and I were at your cafe a while ago and he LOVED one of the pieces of art on your wall. Where do I find the artist so I can inquire about buying a print?

    • Hi There!

      My name is Steph and I am so pleased to read about the experiences that you have all had at our family owned cafe!

      Please feel free to call us at 250-345-4008 with any and all inquiries :)

      Best to all of you!

  4. Looks like it’s the cozy place to relax and the bread in your picture seems delicious. Thank for your information

Leave a Reply

