Patati Patata – Montréal, QC


Patati Patata
4177 Boulevard St-Laurent
Montréal, QC
(514) 844-0216

Je parle un peu francais, but there are enough multi-lingual people in Montreal to help you get by.  After spending a few days in Quebec, I started noticing a bit of a trend.  Walk into an establishment to a standard Bonjour! greeting.  Once you sheepishly return this with a ‘Hello’, the English speaking staff-member swings over to serve you.

My French teacher would be so disappointed in me…

As I was on a quest to experience poutine from the source – this location caught my eye both from many online reviews as well as visually, when approaching it along boulevard St. Laurent.

patatipatata_exterior

This place is tiny, a few small tables along the  outside windows and a sit-down bar.  Luckily there was a couple leaving as we arrived – so we were able to grab a table.  Two wall-mounted menus offer a selection of simple breakfast and lunch items, but I was here for the poutine classique. Fresh cut fries cooked to a dark golden brown, fresh cheese curds, delicious gravy, and garnished with a single olive.

The $1.75 burgers grabbed my attention – as a patron sitting at the counter was receiving his order.  A stack of order sheets (with checkboxes for various additions) is available next to the till to identify exactly how you want your burger finished.  These are smaller than average (roughly 10 cm in diameter), but together with the poutine was plenty of food.

patatipatata_burger_poutine

If I can take one thing away from this experience, it was how the fresh cheese curds held up under the heat of the gravy.  They softened ever so slightly, but didn’t melt into a gooey mess as I have often seen elsewhere.  There seems to be contradicting opinions on whether cheese curds should melt – so I’ll leave this topic for debate in the comments.

I can completely understand the attraction this establishment carries – and would probably become a regular myself.  I wish I had more time to try the many variations, but I guess this leaves me something to look forward to on my next visit to this city.

Patati Patata Friterie de Luxe on Urbanspoon

7 thoughts on “Patati Patata – Montréal, QC

  1. Wow! Believe it or not, I was just here very recently as well and ordered the exact same dish…the classic poutine that is! I’ll have to post my review on my food blog soon. I too noticed that the cheese curds did not melt and cause a “mess.” Like you said, I guess it can be argued whether that’s a good or bad thing.

    • I look forward to reading your post!

      I’ve talked to a few other friends who’ve recently been to Montreal, and they all agreed that fresh cheese curds do not melt. They seem to believe that melting cheese is a sign of less-than-fresh cheese curds.

      This would seem to have some merit – as your regular grocery store cheese will definitely melt under the heat of the gravy (which is essentially compressed & aged cheese curds).

  2. ‘I can completely understand the attraction this establishment carries – and would probably become a regular myself. I wish I had more time to try the many variations, but I guess this leaves me something to look forward to on my next visit to this city.”

    Hey. no need to rush the onset of heart disease from all those variations of absolute goodness! Curds and bagels, the two things I miss the most about living out east. Great post by-the-by.

    • I guess you’re right, but when my flight landed in the flying snow of Edmonton, that bowl of poutine was making my heart ache (and not due to a myocardial infarction).

      Couldn’t visit Montreal without hitting a bagel factory, and having a bagel sandwich! Posts forthcoming!

  3. I think you hit it right on the head in describing what separates the good from the bad when it comes to poutine. I’d prefer it when they do hold up a little better than the rest and not become an obliterated liquidy mess amid all that heat. Perhaps that opinion has been formed by too many experiences where this latter-style was the case.

  4. i only lived in montreal for one year, and got a chance to eat some fantastic food, BUT, my absolute fave restaurant was patati-patata. it hits the spot on those freezing cold montreal winters, and with it’s cramped intimate dining space (just squeeze in! and move if someone wants to walk by to use the restroom!) it’s the cheapest, simplest, and most tasty food in montreal!

    anyhow, thanks for the review…good memories just by seeing the GREAT food (oh btw, the VEGGIE poutine is fantastique!)

  5. If you are looking for a great late night snack place, look no further. Perfect perfect place to go to eat when hungry late at night on St Laurent. You know a place is great when the restaurant is tiny and there is a wait outside to get in. Went here last night with a friend after a ski festival at Le Belmont. The staff was quite friendly, the customers as well (my friend and I sat next to one of the locals who works at the telemark ski place in town) and the food was amazing. I got two hamburgers and hand cut fries for $10 (where else can you say that in Montreal). The burgers were cooked to perfection (not too dry like some of those fast food restaurants, and they were generous with the toppings as well). Additionally, the fries were super fresh and you could tell that the oil they cook it in is still good (not like some of those yuppie gross fry chain places that NEVER change it…you know exactly where I am talking about). Overall, 5 out of 5.

Leave a Reply

