Original Cupcakes – Vancouver, BC


Original Cupcakes
2887 West Broadway
Vancouver, BC
(604) 974 1300

Original Cupcakes on Urbanspoon

In my mind, cupcakes and childhood birthday parties are synonymous.  Fast forward a few years and I was introduced to “gourmet” cupcakes at a wedding.  Rather than having a traditional wedding cake, the bride and groom had a tower of cupcakes.  Fast forward a few more years, I was walking down West Broadway one Saturday afternoon and I came across a cute little shop selling what else…  Cupcakes of course!  The décor of Original Cupcakes is something you’d expect to find in a little girls dollhouse.  I was impressed with the look of the pink hued store, complete with cupcake shaped light fixtures.  From the bustle in the open bakery in the back and the sweet smell in the air, I thought it’d be a shame to leave without some cupcake bounty.

I’m not the type that indulges in baked sweets very often, but for some reason cupcakes are an exception.  Wanting to try more than a single sweet something, I decided on a half dozen mini cupcakes.  This being my first time in the store I thought these were perfect!  The cake portion was moist and had just the right amount of sweetness.  The frosting also wasn’t overly sweet and each had their distinct flavor profiles.  If I were to pick my favorite of the bunch, it would have to be the “mint condition”.  To get a feel for their cupcake lineup, they’ve got them all listed on their website.

Funny how things happen and later that week I was at a local grocery store and overheard a conversation about the Cupcake store on W Broadway.  The cashier informed the customer ahead of me that Original Cupcakes also makes great cakes.  Making a mental note, a cake will definitely be on my list for a future gathering and I’ll more than likely end up indulging in a couple of cupcakes, maybe even a big one next time.

As a final note, I’ve just learned that every month they have a “cause cupcake” where a portion of the proceeds from the sale of each cupcake goes to the cause of the month.  You should check out the story behind January’s “bizzy lizzy” on their blog.

Original Cupcakes on Urbanspoon

2 thoughts on “Original Cupcakes – Vancouver, BC

  1. There certainly seems to be a growing trend by food manufacturers and food service businesses to do more things of this nature with causes, and general CSR. Bizzy Lizzy sounds like a worthwhile endeavor, so a good call by the crew at OC.

    I was reading this week that Sapporo Breweries in Japan is test marketing a new beer product that features a “carbon footprint” label on their cans, in their way of helping fight global warming. The article goes on to say that Sapporo says that the “labels will show the amount of carbon dioxide emitted during the production process of each can, ranging from the operation of agricultural machinery in barley and hop production to recycling”. I’m seeing a lot of this carbon footprint marketing with the airlines, but interesting to see it shift to other sectors as well.

Leave a Reply

